Several high-profile athletes will have a final chance to book their spot for the Tokyo Olympics.

9:10 PM That concludes all the action from the final day of the National Inter-State Athletics Championships. Thank you for joining us. Hope you enjoyed our live updates coverage. Take care and stay safe! Keep following Khel Now for all the latest updates from the world of sports.

9:08 PM The National Inter-State Athletics Championships turned out to be a disappointing tournament for the majority of the Indian athletes. Star names such as Hima Das and Harmilan Bains were unable to secure their place in the upcoming Tokyo Olympics. Seema Punia turned out to be the only athlete who could breach the Olympic qualifying mark and book a coveted place in next month’s showpiece event.

9:00 PM Check out the Indian athletes who have qualified for the Tokyo Olympics. Read here.

8:58 PM In doing so, Seema Punia becomes the second Indian discus thrower to book her place in the Tokyo Olympics, following Kamalpreet Kaur’s footsteps.

8:56 PM The 37-year-old from Sonipat, Haryana will now take part in her fourth Olympic Games.

8:54 PM Discus thrower Seema Punia is the lone athlete to book her spot in the Tokyo Olympics via the National Inter-State Athletics Championships.

8:52 PM On the other hand, Dutee Chand might still be on the flight to Tokyo owing to her rankings.

8:50 PM It turned out to be a disappointing day for Hima Das, who failed to qualify in the 200m.

8:46 PM The second and third positions go to B.I.M. Jayamanne of Sri Lanka and Harika Devi of Telangana, after clocking 24.08 and 24.64 secs. respectively.

8:44 PM Anjali P.D. of Kerala wins the race in 24.01 secs. The Olympic Qualifying mark was 22.80 secs.

8:42 PM Hima Das shockingly finishes in the sixth spot! It seems that she ran with an injury.

8:38 PM The women’s 200m run is the final event of the competition. Hima Das is the cynosure of all eyes right now.

8:36 PM Sri Lanka’s Kaliga Kumarage comes second with 21.13 secs. Tamil Nadu’s Nithin B completes the podium places with 21.20

8:34 PM Lovepreet wins it in 21.04 secs. The Olympic Qualifying mark was 20.24 secs.

8:32 PM That was a really close finish. However, Lovepreet Singh of Punjab wins it at the end.

8:30 PM We will now shift our attention towards the men’s 200m final.

8:28 PM Maharashtra’s Komal Chandrakant Jagadale finishes second with 10:10.31. While Nilani Rathnayake of Sri Lanka comes third with 10:12.02

8:26 PM Parul Chaudhary of Uttar Pradesh clinches victory with a timing of 10:01.58. The Olympic Qualifying mark was 9:30.00

8:24 PM Meanwhile, the 3000m women’s steeplechase concludes.

8:16 PM Seema Punia has qualified for the Tokyo Olympics! The Olympic Qualifying mark was 63.50m.

8:15 PM On the other hand, Seema Punia has achieved a throw of 63.72m in the women’s discus throw event.

8:10 PM The women’s version of the 3000m steeplechase is next on the menu.

8:05 PM Vikram Singh of Madhya Pradesh finishes second with 9:15.53. Md. Nur Hasan of Uttar Pradesh takes the third position after clocking 9:17.96.

8:02 PM He finishes the race in 8:46.36. However, the Olympic Qualifying mark was 8:22.00

8:00 PM Shankar Lal Swami of Haryana delivers the most dominant performance of the night.

7:50 PM The men’s 3000m steeplechase final is underway.

7:48 PM Chanda from Delhi takes the runner-up spot with 4:18.96, whereas Kerala’s Chitra Unnikrishnan comes third with 4:20.29.

7:47 PM It took her 4:15.52 to get past the finish line. The Olympic Qualifying mark was 4:04.20.

7:45 PM Bains clinches the win. That was not one of her best performances though.

7:37 PM All eyes on Harmilan Bains now in the women’s 1500m. This is the final chance for the 23-year-old.

7:34 PM The team from Punjab and the Haryana team claims second and third spot respectively, clocking 3:09.84 and 3:13.02.

7:32 PM Team India clocks a timing of 3:05.22.

7:28 PM The Indian team wins the race in just over 3 mins.

7:25 PM The Indian men’s relay team will be in action now in the men’s 4x400m event.

7:22 PM The India B team comes second with 3:47.16, whereas the team from Punjab clocks a timing of 3:54.77 to finish third.

7:20 PM It took India 3:38.46 to complete the race.

7:18 PM The Indian team comfortably clinches victory.

7:10 PM The women’s 4x400m relay will follow.

7:07 PM Sri Lanka finishes in the second spot with 44.55 secs. Whereas, the team from Telangana clocks a timing of 45.91 secs. to take the third position.

7:05 PM It took the Indian team 44.15 secs. to complete the race. That is a new meet record!

7:02 PM Dutee Chand displays blistering speed in the end to win the race for India.

6:55 PM The women’s 4x100m relay final will begin soon.

6:45 PM Nice to see Tajinderpal Singh Toor among the onlookers today, and is cheering on his fellow athletes.

6:38 PM Shivpal achieves a distance of 75.78m in his first try.

6:32 PM The men’s javelin throw will be today’s first event. Tokyo-bound Shivpal Singh will be in action.

6:30 PM It will be a decisive final day action at the National Inter-State Athletics Championships. Today is the last chance for Indian athletes to book their place in the Tokyo Olympics. Hence, the stakes couldn’t be any higher.

6:20 PM The most impressive performer at the recently concluded Indian Athletics Grand Prix 4 was shot putter Tajinderpal Singh Toor. He qualified for the Tokyo Olympics with a hefty throw of 21.49m. The 26-year-old’s previous best was 20.92m. In fact, Toor went past the qualifying mark of 21.10m with each of his four legal puts. Therefore, he became the 11th individual Indian track and field athlete to qualify for Tokyo 2020. Several others are now also looking to repeat the same feat at the National Inter-State Athletics Championships.

Here’s the list of Indian athletes who have already booked their place in the Tokyo Olympics:

  • KT Irfan, Men’s 20km race walking
  • Sandeep Kumar, Men’s 20km race walking
  • Rahul Rohilla, Men’s 20km race walking
  • Avinash Sable, Men’s 3000m steeplechase
  • Murali Sreeshankar, Men’s long jump
  • Neeraj Chopra, Men’s javelin throw
  • Shivpal Singh, Men’s javelin throw
  • Kamalpreet Kaur, Women’s discus throw
  • Bhawna Jat, Women’s 20km race walking
  • Priyanka Goswami, Women’s 20km race walking
  • Tajinderpal Toor, Men’s shot put
  • Muhammed Anas, VK Vismaya, Jisna Mathew, and Noah Nirmal Tom (4×400 Mixed Relay Team)

6:10 PM Hello and welcome to Khel Now’s live updates of the National Inter-State Athletics Championships.

The National Inter-State Athletics Championships, an Olympic qualifier, will be the last chance for Indian athletes to book their place in the upcoming Tokyo Olympics. The events that are lined up for the fourth day at the National Inter-State Athletics Championships are discus throw, 4x100m relay, 4x400m relay, 200m, 1500m and 3000m steeplechase for women while the men will participate in javelin throw, 200m, 4x400m relay and 3000m steeplechase.

Several high-profile names such as Dutee Chand, M Sreeshankar, Kamalpreet Kaur, Tajinderpal Singh Toor, Shivpal Singh, Muhammed Anas, Harmilan Bains, Annu Rani, Seema Punia and others will be in action in the tournament.

The 60th edition of the National Inter-State Athletics Championships will take place from June 25 to June 29 at the National Institute of Sports and the Punjabi University in Patiala. The National Inter-State Athletics Championships will also act as the final chance for heavyweights Hima Das and Dutee Chand to seal a berth at the Tokyo Olympics.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.