The tournament will begin on January 21 in Muscat, Oman.

An 18-member Indian team will go for glory at the upcoming Women’s Hockey Asia Cup, which will take place at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex in Muscat, Oman between January 21-28, 2022. The incumbent champion, India, will face off against China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, and Thailand for the championship.

The Indian team boasts of a formidable lineup that includes 16 players, who were part of India’s historic fourth-place finish at the Tokyo Olympic Games 2020. In the absence of Rani Rampal, who is undergoing rehabilitation in Bengaluru, the team will be led by ace goalkeeper Savita Punia, with experienced defender Deep Grace Ekka serving as the Vice Captain. Goalkeeper Rajani Etimarpu and defenders Gurjit Kaur, Nikki Pradhan, and Udita were also named in the squad.

The midfield includes Nisha, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Monika, Neha, Salima Tete, Jyoti, and Navjot Kaur. Meanwhile, the forward line will see Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Vandana Katariya, Mariana Kujur, and Sharmila Devi. Deepika (Junior) and Ishika Chaudhary are the team’s two Replacement Athletes for the event.

The competition will take place in a two-pool format with classification matches that cross over. India find its place in Pool A, alongside Japan, Malaysia, and Singapore. On the first day, they will defend their title against Malaysia. They will then face Japan (January 23) and Singapore (January 24). The semi-finals will take place on January 26, and the final is scheduled for January 28.

All of the teams are prepared to take part in the action. The top four teams from the Women’s Hockey Asia Cup 2022 will advance to the FIH Hockey Women’s World Cup 2022 in Spain and the Netherlands.

Indian Women’s Team Squad:

Here is the team members of the Indian squad who will participate in the Women’s Asia Cup 2022, aiming to win the title:

Goalkeepers: Savita (C), Rajani Etimarpu

Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka (VC), Gurjit Kaur, Nikki Pradhan, Udita

Midfielders: Nisha, Sushila Chanu, Monika, Neha, Salima Tete, Jyoti, Navjot Kaur

Forwards: Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Vandana Katariya, Mariana Kujur, Sharmila Devi

Women’s Asia Cup 2022- Schedule & Timings

India will open their Asian Cup 2022 campaign against Malaysia on January 21, 2022 at 7:30 PM IST. The top four teams from the round-robin stage will advance to the semi-finals, which will take place on January 27. Following that, the finals will take place on January 28th.

Here are the two groups of the Women’s Asia Cup 2022.

Pool A : India, Japan, Malaysia and Singapore

Pool B : China, Korea, Thailand and Indonesia

Have a look at the fixtures:

Friday, 21 January, 2022 – India 9-0 Malaysia- Report

Sunday, 23 January, 2022- Japan 2-0 India – Report

Monday, 24 January 2022 – India 9-1 Singapore – Report

Wednesday, 26 January 2022 – South Korea 3-2 India – Report

Wednesday, 26 January 2022 – Japan vs China – 8.30 PM

Friday, 28 January 2022 – Bronze medal match – 6 PM

Friday, 28 January 2022 -Final – 8:30 PM

*All times are in IST.

Where to watch the Women’s Asia Cup 2022 live in India?

The Women’s Asia Cup 2022 will be telecast live on the website. Disney+ Hotstar will exclusively stream all the matches of the tournament.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.