Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score


WWE superstars who became World Champion after winning Royal Rumble

Published at :January 27, 2024 at 8:57 PM
Modified at :January 27, 2024 at 8:57 PM
Post Featured Image

Akash Dhanagaran

Royal Rumble match is a pro-wrestling match with Battle Royal rules, where wrestlers eliminate their opponents from tossing them through the top rope. It is traditionally held with 30 wrestlers, with two of them beginning and wrestlers entering the ring every 90 seconds until 30 entries are done.

A win in the Royal Rumble match could guarantee a world championship match and an opportunity to headline WrestleMania. Here we list the WWE Superstars who have won the World Championship after the Royal Rumble win.

World Champions after Royal Rumble

WWE Championship

  • Yokozuna (1993)
  • Bret Hart (1994)
  • Shawn Michaels (1996)
  • Stone Cold Steve Austin (1998, 2001)
  • Triple H (2002)
  • Brock Lesnar (2003)
  • John Cena (2013)
  • Randy Orton (2017)
  • Drew McIntyre (2020)

World Heavyweight Championship

  • Chris Benoit (2004)
  • Batista (2005)
  • Rey Mysterio (2006)
  • The Undertaker (2007)
  • Sheamus (2012)

Universal Championship

  • Seth Rollins (2019)

The guaranteed title shot at WrestleMania was introduced in 1993 and 30 Wrestlers gained their opportunity so far however only 16 became World Champions. Most of the championship matches were for the WWE Championship.

Also Read: WWE Royal Rumble: List of all winners

19 wrestlers attempted for the WWE Championship of which only 10 won, 7 wrestlers challenged for the World Heavyweight Championship in which 5 won, 4 wrestlers challenged for the Universal Championship in which only one won. Superstars who had challenged for the World Heavyweight Championship after their rumble match have more chances of winning the world championship, whereas challenging for the Universal Championship is one of the poorest decisions as the success rate is just 25%.

Stone Cold is the only one to successfully use his title shot twice. Triple H won the Royal Rumble and WWE Championship on the same time. Yokazuna, Bret Hart, Shawn Michaels, Stone Cold Steve Austin, Chris Benoit, Rey Mysterio, Batista and Drew McIntyre became World Champions for the very first time after winning the Rumble match.

Who do you think would win this year’s Rumble and what championship will they be challenging? Will he be successful? Comment your thoughts.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.