Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score


Top five all-time fastest Indian athletes in 100m

Published at :September 3, 2022 at 9:16 PM
Modified at :September 7, 2022 at 9:17 PM
Post Featured Image


Amlan Borgohain set the new national record at 10.26s.

Usain Bolt, regarded as the greatest sprinter ever, holds the World Record in 100 meters dash. At the 2009 World Championships, the Jamaican clocked 100m in 9.58 seconds to set the new world record.

Although Indian sprinters are yet to break under the ‘10-second’ barrier officially, they have time and again showcased their ability at various national and international events despite all odds. 

Let’s have a look at the five fastest Indian sprinters who hold the national or world record against their name in the 100m event:

5. Amlan Borgohain

Held on 29th August 2022, the All India Inter Railways Athletics Championships witnessed the young 24-year-old Amlan Borgohain break the 100m National Record. Clocking 10.25 seconds, Amlan Borhohain bettered the previous national record of 10.26 seconds held by Amiya Kumar Mallick. Amlan’s previous best was 10.34 seconds recorded at the National Open last year in Waranga. 

Amlan trains at the Reliance High-Performance Centre in Odisha. The 24-year-old has been the national champion twice in his young career. He also holds the 200m national record of 20.52 seconds recorded at the Federation Cup earlier this year. 

4. Amiya Kumar Mallick

Before Amlan Borgohain, it was Amiya Kumar Mallick who held the 100m National Record. Mallick created the previous 100m national record on April 28, 2016, at the semifinals of the National Federation Cup clocking 10.26 seconds. 

In his credentials, he has a silver medal won in the 100m event at the 2008 Commonwealth Youth Games held in Colombo, Sri Lanka. In 2014, he trained under the renowned coach Glen Mills at the Racers Track Club to improve his running technique which was funded by the state association, sponsors, and his father. 

3. Gurindervir Singh

Gurindervier Singh has a U-20 National Record in his name. He clocked 100m in 10.47 seconds to better the previous mark of 10.57 seconds set by Augustine Yeshudas of Kerala in 2013.

In 2021, the young sprinter from Punjab was on the verge of breaking the 100m National Record as he won the 60th National Inter-State Athletics Championships with a timing of 10.27 seconds. He missed the target by a minimal margin of 0.02 seconds.

The 21-year-old Gurindervir has been the national champion twice and he also has an Asian U20 Championships bronze medal to his name. He is still early in his elite career as he has been competing on the international circuit only since 2017.

2. Rachita Panda

Rachita Panda held the national record time in the women's 100m event for 13 years. She recorded this feat of 11.38 seconds at the 2000 National Circuit Athletic Meet in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. 

Rachita went on to better this record as she clocked 11.26 seconds in Bangalore a year later. However, as dope tests were not carried out during this meet it resulted in not being accepted as a national record. Rachita was awarded the Arjuna Award for her illustrious career.

1. Dutee Chand

Dutee Chand held the 100m National Record of 11.17 seconds recorded at the Indian Grand Prix held last year in Patiala. With this record, Dutee broke her previous best of 11.22 seconds which she registered at the National Open Championships 2019 in Ranchi. 

Hima won two silver medals in the 100m and 200m events of the Asian Games 2018. She recorded 11.85 seconds back in 2012 in the U-18 100m event category and became a national champion. Dutee was awarded the Arjuna Award in 2020 for her exemplary achievements.

The above sprinters have undoubtedly inspired the upcoming generation of Indian athletes. The onus is on the young guns to carry forward this momentum and contribute to the success of Indian athletics.