Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score


Sultan of Johor Cup 2023 schedule, full fixtures, match timings, results and live streaming details

Published at :November 2, 2023 at 5:50 PM
Modified at :January 14, 2024 at 12:54 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Hockey India)

Anmol Kakkar

India and Great Britain are the most successful nations in the tournament history.

The Sultan of Johor Cup 2023 will begin on October 27 and will continue until November 4, when the final is scheduled to take place. The 2023 edition of the annual U-21 men’s hockey tournament will feature eught teams, including India and Pakistan.

India and Great Britain share the title of highest winners of the Sultan of Johor Cup, an annual international U-21 tournament held in Malaysia since its inauguration in 2011. This prestigious competition has witnessed five different champion teams so far: India and Great Britain, both triumphant thrice, followed by Australia (2), Germany (1), and Malaysia (1).

The inaugural edition saw Malaysia claim victory by defeating Australia 3-2 in the final, while Germany clinched the second edition after a 3-2 victory over India. India, in particular, has been a force to reckon with, securing the championship thrice (2013, 2014, 2022). Unfortunately, the 2020 and 2021 seasons were cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

India also boasts the most final appearances (7), followed by Great Britain (5), having medalled in every edition except the inaugural one. In the last edition, India displayed sheer determination, overcoming Australia in a thrilling shootout, clinching their third title.

Sultan of Johor Cup 2023 will continue its tradition by taking place at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. The competition is scheduled to kick off on October 27 and will culminate on November 4, featuring eight competing teams. The participating nations are hosts Malaysia, India, Australia, Germany, Great Britain, Pakistan, New Zealand, and South Africa.

India squad

The Indian Junior men’s hockey squad for the Sultan of Johor Cup 2023 features an array of talent across different positions:

  • Goalkeepers: Mohith H S and Ranvijay Singh Yadav
  • Defenders: Amandeep Lakra, Rohit, Sunil Jojo, Sukhvinder, Amir Ali, Yogember Rawat
  • Midfielders: Vishnukant Singh, Poovanna C B, Rajinder Singh, Amandeep, Sunit Lakra, Abdul Ahad
  • Forwards: Uttam Singh, Arun Sahani, Aditya Lalage, Angad Bir Singh, Gurjot Singh, Sathish B

Groups and format

The eight teams are divided into two groups, with each team facing the other three teams once in the group stage. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semifinals.

Group A: Australia, Great Britain, Germany, South Africa

Group B: India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan

Where and how to watch live telecast and live streaming of Sultan of Johor Cup 2023 in India?

Fans in India can catch the live-streaming action of the Sultan of Johor Cup 2023 on the Ashley Morrison Media’s YouTube channel. However, the matches won’t be broadcast on television.

Indian Sports Live Coverage on Khel Now

Sultan of Johor Cup 2023 schedule, fixtures and results and match timings (in IST)

Pool Stages

October 27

  • 1:35 PM: India 3-3 Pakistan – Report
  • 3:35 PM: Australia 3-0 Great Britain
  • 6:05 PM: Malaysia 2-3 New Zealand

October 28

  • 1:35 PM: Germany 6-1 South Africa
  • 3:35 PM: Pakistan 3-2 New Zealand
  • 6:05 PM: India 3-1 Malaysia – Report

October 30

  • 1:35 PM: South Africa 1-2 Great Britain
  • 3:35 PM: Australia 2-2 Germany
  • 6:05 PM: India 6-2 New Zealand – Report

October 31

  • 1:35 PM: Germany 4-3 Great Britain
  • 3:35 PM: Australia 4-0 South Africa
  • 6:05 PM: Pakistan 3-2 Malaysia

Classification Matches

5th-8th Place

November 2

  • New Zealand 3-1 South Africa
  • Great Britain 7-4 Malaysia

7th-8th Place

November 3

  • South Africa 2-3 Malaysia

5th-6th Place

November 4

  • New Zealand 3-5 Great Britain


November 3

  • India 3-6 Germany – Report
  • Australia 2-1 Pakistan

3rd-4th Place

  • India (6) 3-3 (5) Pakistan – Report


November 4

  • Germany (3) 0-0 (1) Australia