Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Top five greatest winning streaks in WWE history

Published at :April 18, 2024 at 1:51 PM
Modified at :April 18, 2024 at 1:51 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : WWE)

Darshanbir Singh

These historic runs will be remembered forever

As Paul Heyman said on the recent Smackdown show, winning and losing matters in WWE. Whether it’s The Undertaker or The Tribal Chief Roman Reigns, it is important to note that both of them wrestle along the storylines that WWE creative provide them.

Either be it the 21-0 streak of The Undertaker or most losses by any wrestler, it is important to note that they give their 100 percent all the time. Here we take a look at the top five greatest winning streaks in WWE history:

CM Punk

He is the ‘Best in the World’ and everyone knows why. He is quite controversial but liked by everyone.

CM Punk‘s 434-day reign as WWE Champion stands out not merely for its duration but for its profound impact on wrestling history. Rising to the throne at Survivor Series 2011, Punk’s reign was marked by a string of formidable challengers, including Alberto Del Rio, The Miz, John Cena, Chris Jericho, and even Jerry Lawler. His journey culminated at the 2013 Royal Rumble, where he yielded the gold to The Rock.

What made Punk’s tenure remarkable was its timing. In an era when title reigns were typically fleeting, measured in months rather than years, Punk’s lengthy reign was a rarity. His championship run, punctuated by a pivotal heel turn halfway through, breathed new life into the landscape of WWE. It harkened back to a bygone era where champions held sway for extended periods, adding an aura of prestige and significance to the title.

Beyond its duration, Punk’s reign was distinguished by the quality of matches he delivered. The Chicago Made Superstar consistently raised the bar, showcasing his unparalleled skills and captivating the audience with unforgettable bouts. Each defense of the championship became an event unto itself, as Punk’s mastery inside the ring captivated fans and critics alike.

In essence, Punk’s reign as WWE Champion was more than a mere statistic; it was a transformative period that revitalized the championship scene. By defying the norms of his time and delivering compelling performances night after night, Punk left an indelible mark on the annals of wrestling history, forever cementing his legacy as one of the most influential champions of his generation.

Also Read: Top 10 longest reigning WWE Champions of all time

Bruno Sammartino

The rise of the Italian Stallion, Bruno Sammartino, to hero status among immigrants in the United States was not just a personal journey but a historic one. His pivotal moment came in 1963 when he triumphed over “Nature Boy” Buddy Rogers to claim the WWWF Championship, marking the beginning of an unparalleled reign.

Sammartino’s first reign as champion stretched a remarkable seven years, eight months, and one day – a duration surpassing the entire careers of many wrestlers. During this time, the championship became synonymous with Sammartino himself, with his dominance shaping the very fabric of professional wrestling.

However, even legends must eventually yield their thrones. When Sammartino’s historic reign came to an end in 1971 at the hands of Ivan Koloff, the wrestling world was left in shock. The moment was so profound that the crowd stood in stunned silence, grappling with the enormity of witnessing Sammartino’s reign finally dethroned.

Sammartino’s legacy extends far beyond his championship reigns. He not only etched his name in the annals of wrestling history but also inspired countless immigrants and aspiring wrestlers around the world. His journey from immigrant to champion serves as a testament to the power of perseverance and the enduring allure of the American Dream.

Empress of Tomorrow, Asuka

When Asuka made her debut in WWE’s NXT in 2015, her impact was unforeseen. As anticipated, the Japanese sensation swiftly racked up victories, solidifying her dominance. Her undefeated streak culminated in capturing the NXT Women’s Title in 2016, a testament to her unparalleled skill.

Upon transitioning to the main roster, Asuka continued her reign of dominance, captivating audiences with her unmatched prowess. It wasn’t until WrestleMania 34 that her undefeated streak came to an end at the hands of Charlotte Flair.

While Asuka may not currently hold championship gold, her resilience and talent suggest a swift return to prominence in the WWE Women’s division. With her unmatched skill and unwavering determination, it’s only a matter of time before the Empress reclaims her throne atop WWE’s elite.

Hulk Hogan

Hulk Hogan’s reign as WWE‘s top wrestler seemed unassailable, his supremacy stretching for what felt like an eternity.

During his remarkable tenure, Hogan didn’t just hold the WWE Championship for an impressive 1,474 days – he embodied the essence of the company and the sport itself. His legacy extended beyond mere victories, transcending into a cultural phenomenon.

The Hulkster’s inaugural reign as champion, commencing with his victory over The Iron Sheik on January 23, 1984, marked the genesis of an era. Hogan’s triumph kickstarted the iconic Hulkamania phenomenon, solidifying his status as an unstoppable force and the quintessential American hero.

Under Vince McMahon’s shrewd guidance, Hogan became the cornerstone of WWE, with WrestleMania itself orbiting around his championship reign. His larger-than-life persona and electrifying presence captivated audiences worldwide, elevating professional wrestling to unprecedented heights.

Hogan’s legend only grew as he dispatched every villain who dared to challenge him, delivering thunderous big boots and devastating leg drops with unwavering precision.

However, every empire eventually faces its reckoning, and for Hogan, it arrived in the colossal form of Andre the Giant. After a monumental four-year reign, Hogan was forced to relinquish his championship to the towering behemoth, signalling the end of an era and the dawn of a new chapter in WWE history.

Also Read: Top 10 wrestlers with most WWE World Championships in history

The Undertaker

The Undertaker’s WrestleMania streak stands as a testament to his unparalleled longevity and enduring legacy in professional wrestling.

Participating in an astounding 21 WrestleManias since his debut in 1991 is an achievement in itself. However, what sets The Undertaker apart is not just his mere presence at these events but his consistent status as one of the main attractions.

Throughout his WrestleMania journey, The Undertaker has conquered some of the most iconic names in the industry, including Edge, Ric Flair, Shawn Michaels, Kane, Randy Orton, and Triple H. Each victory added to the mystique and aura surrounding his streak, solidifying his reputation as one of WWE’s most formidable competitors.

Moreover, The Undertaker’s WrestleMania matches have consistently delivered unforgettable moments and instant classics. From breathtaking displays of athleticism to gripping storytelling, his performances have left an indelible mark on wrestling history, earning him the respect and admiration of fans and peers alike.

As The Undertaker continues to defy the odds and showcase his unparalleled skill, there’s no telling how many more WrestleMania victories he may add to his illustrious record. With each passing year, his accomplishment becomes increasingly improbable to replicate, cementing his status as a true legend of the squared circle.

These winning streaks are quite unachievable, it will be interesting to see if anyone can break the records and be on this list in the future.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.