These footballers either played for Barcelona or Real Madrid.

La Liga is one of the best sporting competitions around the world. Over the years, several greats have played in the top-tier football division of Spain. Since its inception in 1929, a total of 62 teams have competed in the league. However, only nine clubs have managed to earn the title of Spain’s champions. Among them, two outfits – Barcelona and Real Madrid – have emerged as the dominant sides.

Real Madrid are the record champions, having won the title on 34 occasions. Barcelona follow their arch-rivals with 24 La Liga crowns. These two clubs have been home to some of the greatest players of all-time. The likes of Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Andres Iniesta and Alfredo Di Stefano have played for them. So, in this article, we take a look at the players who have won the most La Liga titles.

10. Xavi Hernandez- 8 titles

The current Barcelona manager is considered as one of the greatest midfielders of all-time. The former Spain international spent 11 years at the Catalan club, winning a number of honours, including four Champions Leagues and several cup titles.

In addition, Xavi also won La Liga eight times with the Blaugrana and is the second-highest appearance-maker in the history of the club.

9. Sergio Busquets- 8 titles

Busquets has won eight La Liga titles (Courtesy: Eurosport)

The deep-lying midfielder has been one of the most integral parts in the success of Barcelona and Spain since the turn of the century. The Spaniard came through the youth ranks of the Catalan club and has made over 600 appearances for them. He was part of the treble-winning teams in the 2008-09 and 2014-15 seasons.

In his 14-year professional career, Busquets has won the La Liga title eight times, including for three successive years from 2008 to 2011

8. Gerard Pique- 8 titles

Another Barcelona youth academy product who makes the list is central defender Gerard Pique. He has won La Liga on eight occasions. Starting his career at La Masia, the Spanish defender moved to England, winning the Premier League with Manchester United. He then returned to the Catalan club and playing a huge role in their most successful period.

Pique has also won the Champions League four times along with a World Cup and a European Championship.

7. Amancio- 9 titles

Amancio first represented Deportivo La Coruna, before playing for a Real Madrid side that dominated Spanish football in the 1960s and 1970s.

The Spanish footballer won the league title nine times and all of them came during his spell with Los Blancos from 1962 to 1976. He made over 300 appearances for Madrid in the league.

6. Santillana- 9 titles

Santillana played 17 La Liga seasons at Real Madrid (Courtesy: Futbol Retro)

The Spanish striker spent 17 seasons at Real Madrid, making over 600 appearances for the club. The Cantabria-born footballer was instrumental in Los Blancos’ dominance of La Liga in the 1970s and 1980s,

He helped the club to nine league titles, along with multiple cup honours. He also won the UEFA Cup in 1985 and 1986 with the capital side.

5. Jose Antonio Camacho- 9 titles

Coming through the youth ranks of Real Madrid, Jose Camacho played his entire career with Los Blancos. He spent 15 years with the club and made close to 600 appearances.

The defender’s spell with Real Madrid came during their dominance of Spanish football in the 1970s and 1980s. He helped the team to win 19 major titles, including nine La Liga championships. Jose Antonio Camacho also managed the club on two separate occasions after his retirement from professional football.

4. Andres Iniesta- 9 titles

One of the greatest players in the history of football, Andres Iniesta was instrumental in Barcelona and Spain’s golden era, helping the teams to multiple pieces of silverware.

Coming through La Masia, the Spanish midfielder spent 22 years at the Catalan club and was part of the side that won two historic trebles in 2009 and 2015. Iniesta won a total of 35 major trophies in his career, which includes nine La Liga crowns and four Champions Leagues.

3. Pirri- 10 titles

Pirri has won 10 La Liga titles with Real Madrid (Courtesy: Sporting News)

Jose Martinez Sanchez spent the majority of his career with Real Madrid and was instrumental in the club’s dominance in the 1960s and 1970s.

Pirri signed with Los Blancos as a 19-year-old, winning 15 major honours with the club. The Spanish midfielder won 10 La Liga titles with Real Madrid, along with four Copa del Rey titles and a European Cup.

2. Lionel Messi- 10 titles

Arguably the greatest player in the history of football, Lionel Messi is second on the list of players with most La Liga titles. Coming through the famous La Masia youth academy, the Argentine spent the majority of his career with Barcelona, winning a club-record 35 trophies with them.

The seven-time Ballon d’Or winner holds a number of individual records in La Liga including most goals, most hat-tricks, most assists, while also winning the league title 10 times. He broke into the first-team in 2004 and played for Barcelona until 2021, before moving to PSG.

1. Paco Gento- 12 titles

Paco Gento has won 12 La Liga titles (Courtesy: SportMob)

A football legend in all senses, Paco Gento is one of the most decorated Spanish footballers of all-time. Representing Real Madrid for nearly two decades, Gento also captained the team following Alfredo Di Stefano’s departure and Ferenc Puskas’ retirement.

The Spanish forward won the La Liga title on a record 12 occasions with Los Blancos, the most in the club and the league’s history. He is also the only player to have won the European Cup six times, after appearing in a joint-record eight finals in the continental competition.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.