Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score

Premier League

Top five longest unbeaten streaks in Premier League history

Published at :August 16, 2022 at 8:41 PM
Modified at :August 16, 2022 at 8:41 PM
Post Featured Image


These clubs had a winning mentality and set remarkable unbeaten records in the English top flight. dominated the league in their era.

The Premier League is arguably the toughest league in the world. It has received this tag due to the exceedingly competitive nature of the league and the overall financial strength of all teams. Every year, top-level managers and players come to the English first division and enthrall spectators with their performances.

Over the years, the league has witnessed some mesmerizing squads that not only won the league but also wrote their name in the history books by going undefeated for a long period of time. Achieving such a feat in the Premier League is particularly difficult because of its unpredictability. Any team can defeat any other at any given time, regardless of form or strength on paper.

Some teams were iconic and set massive streaks of going unbeaten in the league. The following five teams are in focus as they hold the top five longest unbeaten runs in the Premier League:

5. Manchester City - 30

Manchester City
The Cityzens went 30 games unbeaten in the league from 04 April 2017 to 02 January 2018 (Courtesy: Manchester City)

Manchester City has been a dominant force in the Premier League over the past decade. Since the new owners have come in, MCFC has won the league six times since their first triumph in 2011-12. The club was in a particularly lethal mood during the 2017-18 season when it won the league.

Manchester City went 30 games unbeaten in the league from 04 April 2017 to 02 January 2018 under the managerial overlord Pep Guardiola. Interestingly, the Cityzens won both seasons of the Premier League across which this unbeaten streak lasted.

4. Arsenal - 30

Contrary to their present-day struggles, Arsenal was a real force to reckon with in the early 2000s. Those were the days when Arsene Wenger’s Arsenal and Sir Alex Ferguson’s Manchester United were the two leading horses in the competition.

The Gunners were exceptional during the 2000-01 and 2001-02 seasons. A 30-game unbeaten run across both seasons was a testament to their quality under Wenger. The Gunners won the league in the 2001-02 campaign when players like Ashley Cole, Patrick Vieira, Thierry Henry and others were part of the squad.

3. Chelsea - 40

Chelsea FC was an immediate force after the takeover of the club by former owner Roman Abramovich. Jose Mourinho’s arrival to the Premier League set the competition alight and broke the hegemony of Arsenal and Manchester United. Thanks to their sensational consistency, the Blues went on a massive 40-game unbeaten run between 23 October 2004 to 29 October 2005.

Chelsea went almost an entire year without losing a game across two seasons in the Premier League. With players like John Terry, Frank Lampard and Didier Drogba among others in the team, CFC won the league in 2004-05 and 2005-06.

2. Liverpool - 44

Liverpool FC has the second longest unbeaten run in the history of the Premier League. Jurgen Klopp’s ingenious managerial capabilities have made the club one of the strongest in Europe. The Reds won the rebranded Premier League for the first time ever in 2019-20.

An unbeaten run of 44 matches which began on 12 January 2019 and ended on 24 February 2020 showed the true capabilities of the side. The Reds finished second in the 2018-19 campaign but finally won the league next year with the likes of Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Virgil van Dijk as part of the setup. 

1. Arsenal - 49

Arsenal Premier League longest unbeaten runs
The Gunners hold the record for the longest unbeaten run in the history of the Premier League (Courtesy: Arsenal)

Arsenal still holds the record for the longest unbeaten run in the history of the Premier League. Between a period starting from 07 May 2003 to 16 October 2004, the London-based club went without a defeat in 49 fixtures under Arsene Wenger’s brilliant leadership.

While Arsenal did not win the league in 2002-03, coming second to MUFC, they eventually won the competition the next season. Wenger’s men won the 2003-04 edition of the Premier League without losing a single game. That Arsenal team is iconically called 'The Invincibles'.


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.