Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

Luka Modric included in Croatia's preliminary squad for Euro 2024

Published at :May 22, 2024 at 3:37 PM
Modified at :May 22, 2024 at 3:55 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Getty Images)

Rajarshi Shukla

UEFA Euro 2024 kicks off in Munich on Friday 14 June 

Croatia’s 26-man roster for Euro 2024 was revealed on Monday by head coach Zlatko Dalic. Veteran captain Luka Modric will likely represent the team in its final big competition before quitting football altogether.

At the 2018 World Cup, the 38-year-old midfielder for Real Madrid, who is expected to leave at the end of the current campaign, guided Croatia to an unprecedented second-place result.

Croatia, captained by Modric, lost to Spain in the Nations League final the previous year and placed third at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. The most successful coach in Croatia, who assumed the position in 2017, said that he was “aware of great expectations” for the German championship, which gets underway on June 14.

“He (Modric) can hardly wait to play for Croatia and be our leader,” Dalic told reporters in Zagreb presenting the squad. “But there are still many national teams that have a great chance to fight for something at the Euro,” Dalic said and estimated Croatia had the toughest group.

“There is no pressure. I just want us to enjoy football, for Croatia to be good again, and for the fans to be happy and proud”, Dalic said.

“We raised the bar too high, we won three medals in the past five years … Croatia always showed that they are the best when it’s the toughest. We will try not to disappoint”.

Croatia’s preliminary squad for Euro 2024

Goalkeepers: Dominik Livaković (Fenerbahče), Ivica Ivušić (Pafos), Nediljko Labrović (Rijeka).

Defenders: Domagoj Vida (AEK), Josip Juranović (Union Berlin), Joško Gvardiol (Manchester City), Borna Sosa (Ajax), Josip Stanišić (Bayer Leverkusen), Josip Šutalo (Ajax), Martin Erlić (Sassuolo), Marin Pongračić (Lecce).

Midfielders: Luka Modrić (Real Madrid), Mateo Kovačić (Manchester City), Marcelo Brozović (Al-Nassr), Mario Pašalić (Atalanta), Nikola Vlašić (Torino), Lovro Majer (Wolfsburg), Luka Ivanušec (Feyenoord), Luka Sučić (RB Salzburg), Martin Baturina (Dinamo).

Attackers: Ivan Perišić (Hajduk), Andrej Kramarić (Hoffenheim), Bruno Petković (Dinamo), Marko Pjaca (Rijeka), Ante Budimir (Osasuna), Marco Pašalić (Rijeka).

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.